Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin
(eAudiobook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Recorded Books, Inc., 2020.
Status
Available Online

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Physical Description
6h 58m 0s
Format
eAudiobook
Language
English
ISBN
9781980096023

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Megan Rosenbloom., Megan Rosenbloom|AUTHOR., & Justis Bolding|READER. (2020). Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin . Recorded Books, Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Megan Rosenbloom, Megan Rosenbloom|AUTHOR and Justis Bolding|READER. 2020. Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin. Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Megan Rosenbloom, Megan Rosenbloom|AUTHOR and Justis Bolding|READER. Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin Recorded Books, Inc, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Megan Rosenbloom, Megan Rosenbloom|AUTHOR, and Justis Bolding|READER. Dark Archives: A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin Recorded Books, Inc., 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc5803476-36b3-a74e-ba9e-619499d2e54f-eng
Full titledark archives a librarians investigation into the science and history of books bound in human skin
Authorrosenbloom megan
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-02-28 15:09:20PM
Last Indexed2024-02-28 15:09:25PM

Book Cover Information

Image SourcecontentCafe
First LoadedApr 17, 2023
Last UsedFeb 16, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2020
    [artist] => Megan Rosenbloom
    [fiction] => 
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/rbd_9781980096023_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 13577550
    [isbn] => 9781980096023
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Dark Archives
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [duration] => 6h 58m 0s
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Megan Rosenbloom
                    [artistFormal] => Rosenbloom, Megan
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

            [1] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Justis Bolding
                    [artistFormal] => Bolding, Justis
                    [relationship] => READER
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Living
        )

    [price] => 2.51
    [id] => 13577550
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => AUDIOBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => A fascinating, terrifying look at the rarest books - bound in human skin - and the stories of their creation There are books out there, some shelved unwittingly next to ordinary texts, that are bound in human skin. Would you know one if you held it in your hand? In Dark Archives, Megan Rosenbloom, a medical librarian and a cofounder of the Death Salon, seeks out the historic and scientific truths behind anthropodermic bibliopegy. Dozens of these books still sit on the shelves of the world’s most famous libraries and museums. What are their stories? Dark Archives exhumes their origins and brings to life the doctors, murderers, women, and indigents whose lives are bound together in this rare, scattered, and disquieting collection. It also tells the story of the scientists, curators, and librarians like Rosenbloom--interested in the full complicated histories behind these dark artifacts of nineteenth-century medicine--are developing tests to discover these books and sorting through the ethics of custodianship. A whip-smart and witty writer, Rosenbloom has crafted a narrative that is equal parts detective work, academic intrigue, history, and medical curiosity. Thrilling, captivating, and macabre in all the right ways, Dark Archives encourages us to take another look at the very serious ways in which the powerful have objectified people over time--perfect for fans of Mary Roach, Lindsey Fitzharris, and the art of collecting.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13577550
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Librarian's Investigation Into the Science and History of Books Bound in Human Skin
    [publisher] => Recorded Books, Inc.
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)