The first sister : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
London ; New York : Skybound Books, 2020.
Physical Desc
344 pages ; 24 cm
Status
Downtown Lansing - 1st Floor-Adult Fiction
SF Lewis
1 available
South Lansing - Fiction
SF Lewis
1 available
Stockbridge - Fiction
SF Lewis
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Downtown Lansing - 1st Floor-Adult FictionSF LewisAvailable
South Lansing - FictionSF LewisAvailable
Stockbridge - FictionSF LewisAvailable

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
London ; New York : Skybound Books, 2020.
Format
Book
Language
English

Notes

Citation/References
Bklst 07/01/2020
Citation/References
LJ Apr 2020
Citation/References
PW 04/06/2020
Description
"Combining the social commentary of The Handmaid's Tale with the white-knuckled thrills of Red Rising, this epic space opera follows a comfort woman as she claims her agency, a soldier questioning his allegiances, and a non-binary hero out to save the solar system. First Sister has no name and no voice. As a priestess of the Sisterhood, she travels the stars alongside the soldiers of Earth and Mars-the same ones who own the rights to her body and soul. When her former captain abandons her, First Sister's hopes for freedom are dashed when she is forced to stay on her ship with no friends, no power, and a new captain-Saito Ren-whom she knows nothing about. She is commanded to spy on Captain Ren by the Sisterhood, but soon discovers that working for the war effort is so much harder to do when you're falling in love. Lito val Lucius climbed his way out of the slums to become an elite soldier of Venus, but was defeated in combat by none other than Saito Ren, resulting in the disappearance of his partner, Hiro. When Lito learns that Hiro is both alive and now a traitor to the cause, he now has a shot at redemption: track down and kill his former partner. But when he discovers recordings that Hiro secretly made, Lito's own allegiances are put to the test. Ultimately, he must decide between following orders and following his heart. A stunning and sweeping debut novel that explores the power of technology, colonization, race, and gender, The First Sister is perfect for fans of James S.A. Corey, Chuck Wendig, and Margaret Atwood"--Provided by publisher.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Lewis, L. A. (2020). The first sister: a novel (First Gallery Books hardcover edition.). Skybound Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lewis, Linden A., 1988-. 2020. The First Sister: A Novel. Skybound Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Lewis, Linden A., 1988-. The First Sister: A Novel Skybound Books, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Lewis, Linden A. The First Sister: A Novel First Gallery Books hardcover edition., Skybound Books, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.